Participation record in Iceland

248 players from 38 nations in Vienna
Back to back title for Gilmour

Participation record in Iceland



Participation record in Iceland


1/22/2015 12:52 PM

Published by

Manuel Røsler

146 players from 23 countries will participate in Iceland International 2015 which will be played from January 22nd to January 25th in Reykjavík, Iceland.  The tournament is an International Series event in the Badminton Europe Circuit and offers a total prize money of $ 5.000.

The tournament, which is a part of Reykjavik International Games, commences on Thursday January 22nd with qualification in the men’s and women’s singles. Main round action will be in all events on Friday 23rd.

Kestutis Navickas (pictured) from Lithuania is the top seed in MS.  He is ranked number 82 in BWF World Ranking and was a member of the Lithuanian team and the EMTC Qualification 2014. Navickas went to the quarter finals in Irish Open in December and in Swiss International in October 2014.  Seeded number two is Milan Ludik from The Czech Republic. He is ranked number 100 in the BWF World ranking. Ludik also played for his country in EMTC Qualification in November 2014. Ludik won Botswana International in December and the South Africa International also in December 2014.

WS top seed is Akvile Stapusaityte from Lithuania. She is ranked number 89 in the BWF World ranking. Stapusaityte has participated few times in Iceland International and has always done well. Last year she was a runner up. She played for Lithuania in EMTC Qualification 2014. Seeded number two is Anna Rankin from New Zealand, which is ranked number 91 in the BWF World ranking.

Martin Campbell and Patrick Machugh from Scotland, ranked number 71 in BWF World Ranking, are top seeded in MD. They are winners of Iceland International 2014 and ended up second in Iceland International 2013. Seeded number two are Peter Briggs and Tom Wolfenden from England. They are number 167 in BWF World Ranking. They went to the quarter finals in Irish Open and Welsh International in December and November 2014.
WD top seeded are also from Scotland, Rebekka Findlay and Cailin Pringle, who are ranked number 137 in the BWF World ranking. Seeded number two are Ieva Pope and Kristine Sefere from Latvia. They are ranked number 138 in the BWF World ranking. 

Oliver Schaller and Celine Burkart from Switzerland are top seeded in XD.  They are ranked number 136 in BWF World Ranking and seeded number two are Alexander Bond and Ditte Soby Hansen from Denmark. They are number 302 in the World Ranking and they are the winners of Iceland International 2014. 

The nations entered are Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, Hungary, Iceland, India, Israel, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Netherlands, New-Zealand, Norway, Scotland, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and Uganda.

Click here to see the draws of Iceland International 2015.
Click here to see pictures of previous Iceland International tournaments.
Visit Badminton Iceland Facebook site by clicking here.

© All rights reserved.